New Skills

New Training: Describe QoS Class Models

by Team Nuggets
New Training: Explain OSPF Architecture picture: A
Published on April 28, 2021

In this 7-video skill, CBT Nuggets trainer Jeff Kish unpacks the different QoS Class Models that Cisco provides as a baseline for QoS designs, including the 4/5 Model, the 8 Model, and the 11 Model. Watch this new Cisco training.

Learn Cisco with one of these courses:

This training includes:

  • 7 videos

  • 57 minutes of training

You’ll learn these topics in this skill:

  • Intro

  • Defining QoS Class Models

  • 4/5 Class Model

  • 8 Class Model

  • 11 Class Model (Baseline)

  • QoS Integration

  • Review and Quiz

What is the 4-Class Strategy Of QoS?

QoS (Quality of service) in enterprise-grade information networks can be a complicated subject. There are multiple methods for implementing QoS policies, and some of those methods are better suited for some jobs while others are not. QoS is utilized to ensure that network traffic can prioritize itself and flow through the network with as few hiccups as possible while guaranteeing a certain SLA. One of the strategies used for QoS policies is a 4-class strategy.

The 4-class strategy is one of the simpler QoS strategies to implement. This strategy focuses on implementing QoS policies for things like telephony, signaling, and mission-critical applications. It's important to note that even within this strategy, QoS policies are still managed by the type of data transmission. For instance, voice communication is often assigned as real-time while signaling network traffic will reserve 7% of link bandwidth. Likewise, mission-critical data can reserve 35% of bandwidth, too.

Recommended Articles