New Skills

New Training: Core Network Components for Cisco Collaboration

by Team Nuggets
New Training: Route Patterns, Route Lists and Route Groups picture: A
Published on February 22, 2021

In this 8-video skill, CBT Nuggets trainer Lalo Nunez covers introduces you to core network components found in your environment. Watch this new Cisco training.

Learn Cisco with one of these courses:

This training includes:

  • 8 videos

  • 50 minutes of training

You’ll learn these topics in this skill:

  • Intro: Core Network Components

  • What is a network?

  • Components of a network

  • Hierarchical Network Model – Access Layer

  • Hierarchical Network Model – Distribution and Core Layer

  • Wireless LAN (WLAN)

  • Gateways

  • Documentation

What is the Three-Layer Hierarchical Network Model in Networking?

The Hierarchical Network Model is a networking architecture that categorizes an enterprise network into three distinct layers: the core, distribution, and access layers. This design model is beneficial for organizations as it formalizes the design and deployment of an enterprise-grade network and allows for easy scalability as networks grow.

The Core Layer, considered the network's backbone, uses extremely fast routers and switches designed to support extremely fast network traffic between different networks and pass data from the Core Layer to the Distribution Layer.

The Distribution Layer sits between the Core Layer and the Access Layer designed to provide routing, enforce access lists, and ensure that packets are routed to the correct subnet and VLANs.

The Access Layer serves as the architectural layer that supports network-connected endpoints such as servers and workstations. Further, organizations can implement access controls and policy definitions for how network-connect devices communicate at this layer.



Ultimate Networking Cert Guide

A 97-page guide to every Cisco, Juniper, F5, and NetApp certification, and how they fit into your career.

By submitting this form you agree that you have read, understood, and are able to consent to our privacy policy.

Don't Miss Out

Get great content delivered to your inbox.

I have read and understood the privacy policy, and am able to consent to it.

Recommended Articles

Get CBT Nuggets IT training news and resources

I have read and understood the privacy policy and am able to consent to it.

© 2022 CBT Nuggets. All rights reserved.Terms | Privacy Policy | Accessibility | Sitemap | 2850 Crescent Avenue, Eugene, OR 97408 | 541-284-5522