Access all premium content with a free week!
Start a free week

Explore Features

Course overview
Keith Barker
Nugget trainer since 2012
Read the full bio

What is it like to train with us?

Our learners say it best.

Helps me learn the skills I need when I need them

Read Reviews

Fortinet NSE 7 - SD-WAN FAQs: Cost, Training, Value

Is the Fortinet Certified Solution Specialist in Network Security certification worth it?

Formerly known as simply NSE 7, the Fortinet Certified Solution Specialist (FCSS) in Network Security certification stands for a high degree of familiarity with designing, administering, monitoring and troubleshooting security solutions on a Fortinet-driven network environment. If the company you work for uses Fortinet technologies to secure their network, the certification is definitely worth it as a way to prove advanced competence with cybersecurity administration.

How much does the FCSS in Network Security and NSE 7: SD-WAN cost?

The NSE 7: SD-WAN exam itself costs $200. It's only an elective (or concentration) exam for a full certification, so when you pass that exam, you'll receive a badge. If you plan to earn the entire Fortinet Certified Solution Specialist (FCSS) in Network Security certification, you'll also need to study for and pass the core exam, NSE 7—Enterprise Firewall 7.2, which also costs $200. So the total cost for the FCSS in Network Security certification is $400 before training and prep costs.

How difficult is the NSE 7 - SD-WAN exam?

You can expect the NSE 7 - SD-WAN exam to be quite challenging due to the level of specificity in configuration knowledge that Fortinet expects from those who take it. The NSE 7 - SD-WAN isn't simply a test of your generic (though advanced) knowledge and skills in SD-WAN configuration, rules, routing and management. It's also a test of whether or not you can do so in a Fortinet environment, with their technologies, and according to their best practices.

Does the Fortinet Certified Solution Specialist in Network Security expire?

Yes, the FCSS in Network Security certification is good for only two years after you earn it. If it expires, you'll need to pass the core exam and an elective exam all over again. Although you can renew your FCSS in Network Security within six months of it expiring, unlike the other specialist-level certs from Fortinet, you will have to pass both the core and concentration exam again. Alternatively, you can earn Fortinet's expert-level cert (FCX) to renew your FCSS.

How to study for the NSE 7 - SD-WAN and the Fortinet FCSS?

Fortinet certification exams are difficult because they test not just a high-level understanding of network security configurations but also a practical mastery of Fortinet's proprietary technologies. Studying for Fortinet certification exams like the NSE 7 - SD-WAN requires gaining proficiency with FortiManager, FortiOS and FortiAnalyzer, in addition to becoming adept at configuring large-scale enterprise networks. Study with virtual labs and interactive simulations to deepen your practical understanding and boost your confidence in handling Fortinet technologies.
Get CBT Nuggets IT training news and resources

I have read and understood the privacy policy and am able to consent to it.

© 2024 CBT Nuggets. All rights reserved.Terms | Privacy Policy | Accessibility | Sitemap | 2850 Crescent Avenue, Eugene, OR 97408 | 541-284-5522