New Skills

New Training: Explain Enterprise Network Design

by Team Nuggets
New Training: Explain BGP Concepts picture: A
Published on February 24, 2021

In this 8-video skill, CBT Nuggets trainer Jeff Kish teaches you about the Enterprise Network Design. Learn about two-tier and three-tier designs, access layer design options, and more. Watch this new Cisco training.

Watch the full course: Cisco CCNP Enterprise Core

This training includes:

  • 8 videos

  • 41 minutes of training

You’ll learn these topics in this skill:

  • Intro

  • Three-Tier Network Design

  • Two-Tier Network Design

  • L2 Access Layer Designs

  • L3 Access Layer Designs

  • Access Layer Topologies

  • Data Center Topologies

  • Review and Quiz

3 Components of a Three-Tier Network Design

One of the most well-adopted network architectures aside from the hyper-converged infrastructure is the three-tier network model. This three-tier architecture categorizes network components into three layers: the Core Layer, the Distribution Layer, and the Access Layer. By abstracting these layers, organizations can benefit from easy design parameters to follow and also help deploy a scalable network model.

The Core Layer, which acts as the gateway between the outside work and the network, is considered the three-tier network model's backbone. This layer is built on the highest processing routers possible designed to move data to the correct node of the distribution layer as quickly as possible.

The Distribution Layer sits between the Core Layer and the Access Layer and acts as a boundary point enacting filters and enforcing permissions as data is passed through to the actual network-connected devices.

The Access Layer denotes the layer pertaining to all network-connected devices where data from the Core Layer and the Distribution Layer has effectively funneled the proper packets to the appropriate device.

Recommended Articles