New Skills

New Training: Cloud Service and Deployment Models

by Team Nuggets
New Training: Getting Started with Amazon S3 picture: A
Published on February 19, 2021

In this 5-video skill, CBT Nuggets trainer Bart Castle compares and contrasts security responsibilities for the three cloud service models: Infrastructure as a service (IaaS), Platform as a service (PaaS), and Software as a service (SaaS). Gain an understanding of the four deployment models: public, private, hybrid, and community. Watch this new Cisco training.

Watch the full course: Implementing and Operating Cisco Security Core Technologies

This training includes:

  • 5 videos

  • 41 minutes of training

You’ll learn these topics in this skill:

  • Planning for Cloud Services

  • Plan for Infrastructure As A Service

  • Plan for Platform As A Service

  • Plan for Software As A Service

  • Plan for Cloud Deployment Models

IaaS vs PaaS vs SaaS: What's the Difference?

Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) is an entity that offers scalable cloud resources, such as virtual machines, storage and bandwidth. Instead of buying these resources outright, companies purchase them on an ongoing basis from an IaaS when needed. Examples of an IaaS are AWS, Microsoft Azure and Google Compute Engine.

Platform as a Service (PaaS) is an entity that offers similar services as an IaaS, but they are geared toward the creation of web applications. So, while they offer scalable cloud resources, they also offer a framework that developers can use to build their applications upon. Examples of a PaaS are Google App Engine, Heroku and OpenShift.

Software as a Service (SaaS) is an entity that offers applications on the cloud. Instead of buying and installing applications on-premise and providing the infrastructure for them, such as storage, companies purchase on-going access to them through a SaaS. Examples of a SaaS are Google Apps, Dropbox and Salesforce.

Recommended Articles