Get Started Now

Roadmap to Success: ITILⓇ Foundation


Roadmap to Success is a series of posts designed to help learners better understand certification pathways, career opportunities associated with those certifications, and next steps beyond certification.

UPDATED: We updated this article on December 6, 2016 to reflect relevant changes to the ITIL® Foundation certification curriculum.

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) has emerged as a standard method and approach to IT that is increasingly in demand among employers. ITIL® is a framework of best practices that are used to improve IT services. Generally, the ITIL® Foundation certification offers a general awareness of key elements, concepts, and terminology used in the ITIL® service lifecycle.

ITIL® Foundation Level
The ITIL® Foundation Level certification (or qualifications, as they are termed by Axelos) is intended to equip learners with a general awareness of the ITIL® service lifecycle, including the links between lifecycle stages, the processes used, and their contribution to service management practices. The qualification is made up of one exam, covered by the following CBT Nuggets training:

Typically, learners pursuing this certification path should have some familiarity with ITIL® and work for an organization that has adopted the framework. ITIL® Foundation Level is an entry-level qualification, so learners new to the industry can start here to create a strong understanding of globally recognized best practices associated with IT service lifecycles. There is no formal prerequisite for the ITIL® Foundation Level qualification.

Learn more by exploring our blog post and webinar:

Or, explore the differences and similarities of ITIL® and PMI® with our blog post, ITIL® vs PMI®.

Exam Details
Time allotted for exam:
 1 hour (60 minutes)
Number of questions: 40 questions
Passing score: 65% (26 out of 40 questions)
Question types: Multiple choice
Exam registration: ITIL® Examination Institutes
Exam cost: $219 USD*
*Cost may vary based on testing location
Exam Content Outline: ITIL® Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management Syllabus (free resource)
ITIL® Foundation Sample Papers (AXELOS user profile required; free resource)

The Next Step
The ITIL® Foundation Level qualification is a building block upon which learners can develop expertise in service lifecycle best practices. ITIL® provides learners with several levels to continue to advance through in the course of their training. Learners can choose to continue to progress through the Practitioner, Intermediate, Expert, and Master Level qualifications.

The Practitioner Level qualification provides practical guidance on leveraging the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) in order to help organizations optimize the adoption and adaptation of ITIL®. In addition, the Practitioner Level qualification works to equip learners to leverage other IT frameworks, practices, and methodologies, including Lean, DevOps, Agile, and SIAM.

Many learners pursuing ITIL® qualifications seek to diversify their training. Because ITIL® is a framework of best practices, many learners find project management training to be an excellent supplement to their development and resumes:

Learners who can effectively apply the ITIL® framework to projects they manage can be leaders in the IT industry.

ITIL® qualifications are not subject to recertification.

ITIL® Qualification Levels
There are five levels of ITILⓇ certifications. Each level of qualification provides eligibility for subsequent levels:

Each exam serves as a prerequisite for the next level. For example, a learner must earn the Foundation Level qualification before being eligible for the Practitioner Level qualification exam, and so on.

Career Considerations provides a helpful salary guide to help learners determine appropriate pay scales for job opportunities associated with the ITIL® Foundation qualification. Depending on professional experience, an employee who holds the ITIL® Foundation qualification can earn, on average, $91,000. reports a range of salaries for employees holding the ITIL® Intermediate Level qualification. Depending on professional experience, an employee who holds an ITIL® Intermediate Level qualification can earn anywhere from $59,660 to $162,344. Roles or titles for ITIL® Foundation Level-qualified employees include IT project manager, IT manager, IT director, senior project manager, and service delivery manager.

Concluding Thoughts
Earning an ITIL® Foundation Level qualification sets you on a course to conquer the ITIL® framework and implement best practices for service delivery. As ITIL® continues to gain momentum worldwide, learners pursuing this path will equip themselves for ample career opportunities and professional development.

Watch. Learn. Conquer ITIL® Foundation!

ITIL® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
CBT Nuggets, through EXIN, is an AXELOS Accredited Training Organisation (ATO) for ITIL®.


Not a CBT Nuggets subscriber? Start your free week now.

CBT Nuggets has everything you need to learn new IT skills and advance your career — unlimited video training and Practice Exams, Virtual Labs, validated learning with in-video Quizzes, Accountability Coaching, and access to our exclusive community of IT professionals.

Learn more about the CBT Nuggets Learning Experience.


Comments are closed.