Get Started Now

Roadmap to Success: ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle CSI

featured (1)

Roadmap to Success is a series of posts designed to help learners better understand certification pathways, career opportunities associated with those certifications, and next steps beyond certification.

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITILⓇ) has emerged as a standard method and approach to IT that is increasingly in demand among employers. ITILⓇ is a framework of best practices that are used to improve IT services. Generally, the ITILⓇ Intermediate Lifecycle: Continual Service Improvement (CSI) module is one of the qualifications within the Continual Service Improvement stage of the ITILⓇ Lifecycle.

ITILⓇ Intermediate Lifecycle: Continual Service Improvement (CSI)
The ITILⓇ Intermediate Lifecycle: Continual Service Improvement (CSI) qualification focuses on how organizations and individuals can strategically review the products and services produced following the strategy, design, transition, and operation stages of the IT Service Lifecycle. CSI also offers guidance on how processes should be organized and executed, and on the tools and technology that can be used. Further, CSI addresses how to evaluate risks and critical success factors.

The CSI qualification is made up of one exam, which is covered by CBT Nuggets training:

As an intermediate-level qualification, most typically, learners pursuing this qualification path should have experience working within the ITILⓇ framework and have previously earned the ITILⓇ Foundation Level qualification in IT Service Management. It is recommended that learners have 2-3 years of experience working in IT prior to attempting the CSI qualification.

Learn more from trainer Chris Ward by exploring our blog posts and webinars:

Or, explore the differences and similarities of ITILⓇ and PMIⓇ with our recent blog post, ITILⓇ vs PMI.

Exam Eligibility
ITILⓇ has strict criteria for learners wishing to sit for the CSI exam. It’s important to understand those criteria and their implications they carry for training.

  • Candidates must already hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management;
    • Candidates may also be eligible if they hold:
      • Earlier ITILⓇ (V2) Foundation plus Foundation Bridge; or
      • ITILⓇ Expert in IT Service Management (achieved via Service Manager or Practitioner bridging routes).
  • Candidates must have earned 21 contact hours from an Accredited Training Organization (ATO) or an accredited e-learning solution as part of a formal, approved training course and scheme; and
  • Candidates should have a basic IT literacy and approximately two years of IT experience.

Exam Details

Time allotted for exam: 1.5 hours (90 minutes)
Number of questions: 8
Passing score: 70% (28 out of 40 possible points)
Question types: Multiple choice, based on scenarios
Exam cost: £275 (approximately $395 USD)*
*Cost may vary based on testing location
Exam Syllabus: Intermediate Qualification: Service Lifecycle – Continual Service Improvement Certificate (free resource)

ITILⓇ qualifications are not subject to recertification.

The Next Step
The CSI certificate is a building block upon which learners can develop expertise in service lifecycle best practices. ITILⓇ provides learners with several levels to continue to advance through in the course of their training. Learners can choose to continue to progress through the Expert and Master Level qualifications.

Many learners pursuing ITILⓇ qualifications seek to diversify their training. Since ITILⓇ is a framework of best practices, many learners find project management training to be an excellent supplement to their development and resumes:

Learners who can effectively apply the ITILⓇ framework to projects they can productively manage will become leaders in the IT industry.

Career Considerations provides a helpful salary guide to help learners determine appropriate pay scales for job opportunities associated with the ITIL Intermediate qualification. Depending on professional experience, an employee who holds the ITIL Intermediate qualification can earn, on average, $73,000. reports a range of salaries for employees holding the ITILⓇ Intermediate Level qualification. Depending on professional experience, an employee who holds an ITILⓇ Intermediate Level qualification can earn anywhere from $60,608 to $148,848. Roles or titles for ITILⓇ Intermediate Level qualified employees include service delivery manager, IT program manager, IT director, and IT project manager.

ITILⓇ Qualification Levels
There are five levels of ITILⓇ certifications (or qualifications, as they are termed by Axelos). Each level of qualification provides eligibility for subsequent levels:

Each exam serves as a prerequisite for the next level. For example, a learner must earn the Foundation Level qualification before being eligible for the Practitioner Level qualification exam, and so on.

Concluding Thoughts
Earning an ITILⓇ Intermediate Level qualification sets you on a course to conquer the ITILⓇ framework and implement best practices for service delivery. As ITILⓇ continues to gain momentum worldwide, learners pursuing this path will equip themselves for ever-greater career opportunities and professional development.

Watch. Learn. Conquer ITILⓇ!

ITIL® is a registered trademark of AXELOS Limited.


Not a CBT Nuggets subscriber? Start your free week now.

CBT Nuggets has everything you need to learn new IT skills and advance your career — unlimited video training and Practice Exams, Virtual Labs, validated learning with in-video Quizzes, Accountability Coaching, and access to our exclusive community of IT professionals.

Learn more about the CBT Nuggets Learning Experience.


Comments are closed.