Get Started Now

Roadmap to Success: CompTIA Network+

featured (1)

Roadmap to Success is a series of posts designed to help learners better understand certification pathways, career opportunities associated with those certifications, and next steps beyond certification.

UPDATED: We updated this article on August 23, 2016, to reflect relevant changes to the CompTIA Network+ certification curriculum.

The CompTIA Network+ certification is an excellent entry point for learners just starting their IT careers, particularly in networking. It is among the most popular courses offered by CBT Nuggets and is highly sought after by employers seeking entry-level IT professionals. Generally, this certification qualifies learners for roles including network administrator, technician, installer, help desk technician, or IT cable installer.

CompTIA Network+
The CompTIA Network+ certification is intended to equip learners with the skills and knowledge needed to troubleshoot, configure, and manage common network wireless and wired devices, establish basic network design and connectivity, understand and maintain network documentation, identify network limitations and weaknesses, and implement network security, standards, and protocols. The CompTIA Network+ certification is made up of just one exam, covered by the CBT Nuggets course, CompTIA Network+ N10-006.

Typically, learners pursuing this certification should have 6-9 months of experience working in IT in general, and particularly with networking. The CompTIA Network+ certification is an entry-level, professional certification, making it an excellent entry-point for many new IT professionals.

Downloadable Study Plans
CBT Nuggets offers two study plans that map to Keith Barker’s CompTIA Network+ N10-006 course. These downloadable CompTIA Network+ study plans break down the courses and supplemental learning resources to equip learners with a strategic and manageable approach to conquer training goals. Download the CompTIA Network+ N10-006 or CompTIA Network+ N10-006 in 10 Minutes a Day study plans.

Exam Details
The CompTIA Network+ is made up of just one exam.

Time allotted for exam: 1.5 hours (90 minutes)
Number of questions: Maximum of 90 questions
Passing score: 720 (on a scale of 100-900)
Question types: Multiple choice; multiple choice/multiple answer; drag and drop; and performance-based
Exam registration: Pearson Vue
Exam cost: $294 (USD)
Exam objectives: CompTIA Network+ N10-006 (free resource)

CompTIA certifications are valid for three years from the date of certification. The CompTIA Network+ certification is eligible for renewal through CompTIA’s continuing education (CE) program. CBT Nuggets is a CompTIA partner, meaning that our courses are pre-approved for continuing education credit. For more information on our partnership with CompTIA, review our recent blog post, Continuing Education Credits for CompTIA.

The Next Step
CompTIA certifications serve as excellent building blocks that can enable learners to pursue more advanced, vendor-specific certifications, or further CompTIA certifications. Following the CompTIA Network+ certification, learners most typically pursue:

Often, the next step in training is determined by the products learners use in their work.

Career Considerations
CompTIA provides excellent information about IT career paths related to their certifications, including a career roadmap that identifies certifications from CompTIA and other providers that equip learners for specific career opportunities. provides a helpful salary guide to help learners determine appropriate pay scales for job opportunities associated with the CompTIA Network+ certification. Depending on professional experience, someone who holds a CompTIA Network+ certification can earn on average between $34,415 and $99,992. Roles for employees holding the CompTIA Network+ certification include systems administrator, network administrator, IT manager, network engineer, IT specialist, and more.

The CompTIA Network+ certification meets the requirements for DOD 8750 and/or DOD 8140 baseline certifications for IAT Level I, qualifying learners for Department of Defense jobs and contract work for the U.S. federal government.

CompTIA Certification Pathways
CompTIA certifications are considered to be “vendor neutral,” meaning that the content addressed by CompTIA certifications is universally applicable to any product or brand. Generally, CompTIA certifications are broad in scope, providing a conceptual framework that can be broadly applied. CompTIA certifications are broken down into four categories: Basic, Professional, Specialty, and Master certifications. However, no CompTIA certifications carry prerequisite exams, so learners can begin at any level. Though learners can start with any CompTIA certification, the hierarchy should be considered in developing training plans.

Basic certifications:

Professional certifications:

Specialty certifications:

Master certifications:

Concluding Thoughts
Earning CompTIA Network+ certification is one of the first steps to launching a long-term, growth-oriented career in IT networking. Launch your networking career today with the CompTIA Network+ certification!

Watch. Learn. Conquer the CompTIA Network+!

Not a CBT Nuggets subscriber? Start your free week now.

CBT Nuggets has everything you need to learn new IT skills and advance your career — unlimited video training and Transcender® Practice ExamsVirtual Labs, validated learning with in-video QuizzesAccountability Coaching, and access to our exclusive community of IT professionals.

Learn more about the CBT Nuggets Learning Experience.


Not a CBT Nuggets subscriber? Start your free week now.

CBT Nuggets has everything you need to learn new IT skills and advance your career — unlimited video training and Practice Exams, Virtual Labs, validated learning with in-video Quizzes, Accountability Coaching, and access to our exclusive community of IT professionals.

Learn more about the CBT Nuggets Learning Experience.


Comments are closed.